Migrating Excel VBA Add-in to VB.Net, ExcelDNA, NetOffice

I have updated my previous post on migrating an addin with this 15-page Word document listing some of the things that kept me editing and debugging for two weeks on a 13,000  VBA LOC addin. I hope some of these help you – do let me know of any corrections or enhancements that may be necessary.

Migrating Excel VBA Add-in to VB.Net, ExcelDNA, NetOffice.docx

 

About Patrick O'Beirne, spreadsheet auditor

Patrick provides consultancy and training in spreadsheet development, auditing / testing and model review; and the Excel addin XLtest
This entry was posted in Excel/VBA, ExcelDna and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Migrating Excel VBA Add-in to VB.Net, ExcelDNA, NetOffice

  1. Pingback: VB.Net addin for Excel with UserForms using ExcelDNA | Patrick O'Beirne @ sysmod

  2. jon49 says:

    So how do you like using NetOffice? I’ve been embedding (.NET Framework 4) the excel library I extracted from my Excel 2003 file. It seems pretty good, but it would be interesting to know your experiences. I guess I like embedding since it makes the final file size smaller to.

    • sysmod says:

      I don’t have anything to compare it to yet, although XLDennis recommends another product I think XLLPlus, or Add-in Express. Lots more to do before I feel it’s safe to publish solutions!

  3. Pingback: Patrick O’Beirne’s guide for Excel VBA to VB.NET migration | Excel-DNA

  4. Ben Freeman says:

    Class definitions have changed, the old Get & Let are gone and replaced with:
    Property Month( ) As Integer
    Get
    Return MonthNum
    End Get
    Set(ByVal Value As Integer)
    MonthNum = Value
    End Set
    End Property

    • sysmod says:

      That’s right, Ben, there are examples of that in the Globalhelpers and Thisworkbook code in the doc, but I should specifically mention that in the list of changes.

Leave a Reply

