Rubberduck VBA addin

The Rubberduck VBA (@rubberduckvba) open source project has been going for a couple of years, and when I was reminded of it recently I decided to give it a try. It’s definitely a help in VBA development and I’ll go on using it with Excel.

It’s an addin for the VBE add-ins manager. I am currently using version 2.0.11.2453, downloaded from Github. I look forward to some enhancements they discuss on Github.

I focused on Code Inspections, where Rubberduck warns you about potential quality issues by inspecting the code in a VBProject, either Excel or Access. It also has Refactorings and Unit Tests, which I shall look at later.

The list of inspections is here. Some of them I don’t enable (eg “Encapsulate Public Field”, “Multiple Declarations”) as they are not issues for me, although the style police might think otherwise. Others I ignore with a comment flag in one specific place but leave the inspection active in case the poor style arises by mistake elsewhere.

I found one problem in one of my projects using this, so it’s already worthwhile.

The name, in case you’re curious, derives from the saying that if you don’t have a peer to review your code with, explaining it to a rubber duck helps you see things you missed first time.

And finally, if you have a special interest in Excel VBA code quality, please consider sharing your knowledge with others by presenting at the annual conference of the European Spreadsheet Risk Interest Group (@eusprig) . July 6, Imperial College London. http://www.eusprig.org/call-for-papers.htm

About Patrick O'Beirne, spreadsheet auditor

Patrick provides consultancy and training in spreadsheet development, auditing / testing and model review; and the Excel addin XLtest
This entry was posted in Excel/VBA, Open Source, Software Testing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

